Bless Playlist 18/10/05

Black Lipstick

Tonight’s best new track was ‘Viva Max’ by Black Lipstick. I got their album, ‘Sincerely,’ earlier this year, when I wasn’t DJing, and I loved it then. But ‘Viva Max’ has grown from being an occasional listen to an obsession. I keep playing it in the car, over and over. It just rolls along, semi-VU, semi-Neu, all Black Lipstick. There’s just something about it… Go and check the album out, it’s going to be one of my top indie albums of this year.

Now, it may seem that I’m also getting obsessed with old psych/prog but it’s not true, I promise! It’s just that there’s some damn fine pop tunes on the cusp there, before prog-proper arrived and everything got all hobgoblin-y. So, tonight’s best old track is by Tripsichord. ‘We Have Passed Away’ is simply a cool pop song, great beat, catchy riffs, you name it.

The astute amongst you may have noticed a slight Swedishness to tonight’s playlist too… 😉

Tonight, you heard:

Logh – Destinymanifesto
Ruxpin – Lamuamochorr
Qwel And Jackson Jones – Dark Day
Archer Prewitt – Leaders
Tunng – Fair Doreen
Boards Of Canada – Aquarius
Atmosphere – Spaghetti Straps
Komeda – Binario
Deadstring Brothers – Entitled
Quantic – Angels And Albatrosses
Reef The Lost Cauze – Give It Up
Stephen Malkmus – The Hook
Modey Lemon – Sleepwalkers
Decal – Recall Edit
IAM – Revoir Un Printemps
Refree – Faltas Leves
Svevo – In Ewigkeit
Bit Shifter – Double Density
Innaway – The Strings Of North Egg
Lone Catalysts – La, La, La, La
Scott 4 – Catastrophe
Serge Gainsbourg – Soixante Neuf Annee Erotique
Riddle Of Steel – Baby Bird
Mascot Fight – Thinking In French
GZA & Ras Kass – Lyrical Swords
Secret Mommy – Tennis Court
Okkervil River – Black
Orange Juice – What Presence?!
Dinosaur Jr. – Start Choppin’
Dark Vektor – Vektorial
Raks One – Knoe Dat Ver. 2.0
Yesterday’s New Quintet – Dice Game
Black Lipstick – Viva Max
Stereolab – Ping Pong
Lowfish – Fric Frac
Ladytron – Sugar
Bronze Nazareth, Solomon Childs, & Byata – Street Corners
The Radio Dept. – 1995
Tripsichord – We Have Passed Away
Jonathan Richman – The Neighbors
Touane – Backward Is Forward
Jens Lekman – Black Cab