A Letter To Tony Blair

I nicked this from the Stop The War website:

Dear Mr Blair,

The war and occupation of Iraq have been an unmitigated disaster both for the people of Iraq and Britain. Countless innocent Iraqis have lost their lives and still more innocents have been killed on our streets. British soldiers, many of whom do not want to serve in Iraq, have been killed, wounded or maimed.

The United Nations’ mandate for the occupation of Iraq expires this December. We call on you to initiate the first steps to end this carnage by announcing that British troops will be brought home by the end of this year.

If you do this, you can stop the killing of any more Iraqis by British troops. You can save the lives of our soldiers. You can make Britain’s streets safer. You can defend civil liberties rather than erode them.

Brian Eno

Dame Anita Roddick

Tony Benn

Professor Richard Dawkins, FRS

Billy Bragg

Dr Richard Horton, FRCP, Editor The Lancet

Maxi Jazz

Harold Pinter

John Williams, guitarist

Tony Woodley, General Secretary T&GWU

Julie Christie

Mark Rylance, actor

Lindsey German, Stop the War Coalition

Rose Gentle, mother of Gordon Gentle

Stewart Hemsley, Chair, Pax Christi UK

Andrew Murray, Stop the War Coalition

Brent Hansen, broadcaster

Kate Hudson, Chair CND

A L Kennedy

Haifa Zangana

John Keane, artist

Ian Rickson, Artistic Director, Royal Court Theatre

Margaret K Cook

John Austin MP

Benjamin Zephaniah

Reg Keys, father of Tom Keys

Ken Loach

Katherine Hamnett, fashion designer

Jeremy Corbyn MP

Caroline Lucas, Green MEP

Peter Brierley, father of Shaun Brierley

Tariq Ali

John Rees, National Secretary RESPECT

Mundher Al Adhami

Katie Mitchell, theatre director

Professor Sebastian Balfour

Matt Black (Coldcut)

Bruce Kent

Jamie Reid, artist

Adrian Mitchell

George Galloway MP

Allan Green, National Secretary, Scottish Socialist Party

Mary Balfour, MD Drawing Down the Moon

Professor Steven Rose

Keith Sonnet, Deputy General Secretary, UNISON

George Monbiot

Michael Kustow, writer and producer

Dr Kamil Mahdi

John Pilger

Linda Smith, Chair RESPECT

Professor Hilary Rose

Linda Riordan MP

Victoria Brittain

Craig Murray

Dr Alex Scott-Samuel, FFPH

Michael Rosen

Kim Longinotto, documentary director

Tony Graham, theatre director

Dr Richard Drayton

Mark Curtis, author

Yvonne Ridley

Chris Nineham, Stop the War Coalition

Professor John Sloboda, co-founder Iraq Body Count

Greg Hersov, theatre director

Professor Tim Shallice FRS

Martin Rowson

Nicolas Kent, Director, Tricycle Theatre, London

Professor Jonathan Rosenhead

Professor David Seddon

Paul Mackney, General Secretary, NATFHE

(Source: Stop The War)