Bless Playlist 10/1/2005


Tonight’s top new track was ‘All U Got’ by JUICE. The Chicago rapper shows he’s a master of both flow and imagery on this track, his poetry flips from brutal to beautiful quite unpredictably. You can easily hear the steel that helped him best both Common and Eminem in freestyle battles. ‘All U Got’ is taken from JUICE’s new album ‘All Bets Off’ which is released today, January 11th (yes, I’m writing up my playlist far too late as usual). Check out the album, there are loads more head-nodding tracks on there.

Artie Shaw

Tonight’s best old track was Artie Shaw’s ‘Oh! Lady Be Good.’ I played this as a tribute to Artie who passed away recently. It’s a blistering, rampaging track, the beat is so infectious you can’t sit still. And over it, Artie’s clarinet soars effortlessly.

R.I.P., Artie:

Cass Mccombs – When The Bible Was Wrote
Small Brown Bike – The Cold
Dilated Peoples – Right And Exact
Frank Black Francis – The Holiday Song
I Can Make A Mess Like Nobody’s Business – Salvy
Tim Koch – Seven Ate Nine
Neutral Milk Hotel – The King Of Carrot Flowers, Pt. 1
Isis – Catalyst
Say Hi To Your Mom – Let’s Talk About Spaceships
Skomoni – Le Jeu Du Rap
The Decemberists – Sixteen Military Wives
Minus The Bear – Dog Park
Vessel – As She Explodes
A Life Once Lost – Surreal Atrocities
Artie Shaw – Oh! Lady Be Good
The Wedding Present – Ringway To Seatac
Death From Above 1979 – Romantic Rights
Deerhoof – Our Angel’s Ululu
Non-Prophets – Disasters
Of Montreal – My British Tour Diary
Weezer – Getchoo
Huoratron – Male Bonding
Low – Monkey
Go Kart Mozart – Today
Shellac – Squirrel Song
Comateens – Get Off My Case
JUICE – All U Got
Mclusky – Lightsabre Cocksucking Blues
Adam Green – Crackhouse Blues
Doormouse – Sinosim
The Allstonians – Hangin ‘Round
Bleeding Through – Rise
The Angels – My Boyfriend’s Back
The Liars – Mr Your On Fire Mr
The Notwist – Moron
The Lucksmiths – Camera-Shy
Vive La Féte! – Touche Pas
Lords Of The Underground – Funky Child
Help She Can’t Swim – The Dance Party Turned Into A Wake
Lamb Of God – A Devil In God’s Country
Ambulance LTD – Ophelia
Tyde – Twice
Bread – Mother Freedom
Chris Clark – Indigo Optimus
Sonic Youth – Skip Tracer (2)
Early Day Miners – Comfort/Guilt
Rodney P – Trouble
The Bens – Bruised